essential.

Duane Michals is one of my favourite photographers. His ability to blend narrative and image is unparalleled. He has several books of his work, but I think the best is The Essential Duane Michals.

Duane Michals

A LETTER FROM MY FATHER

As long as I can remember, my father always said that one day he would write me a very special letter. But he never told me what the letter would be about. I used to try to guess what the letter would contain; what intimate secret the two of us would share, what family mystery could now be rewarded! I know what I had hoped to read in the letter. I wanted him to tell me where he had hidden his affections. But then he died, and the letter never did arrive. And I never did find that place where he had hidden his love.

THIS PHOTOGRAPH IS MY PROOF

This photograph is my proof there was that afternoon, when things were still good between us, and she embraced me, and we were so happy. It did happen, she did love me, Look see for yourself!

THE FALLEN ANGEL

The second image definitely describes how I’m feeling right now.

Leave a Reply

