s’now.big.deal.

Oh my gosh. Can I just say I am so excited for what you are about to see? Seriously, I’m giddy.

In my Arts in the Elementary School course I took this term we had to make a stop-motion animation film–complete with story boards, backdrops, characters, everything. This is the result of 3 hours of hard work (I don’t want to give away the story just yet because you have to watch it!)

Maybe I’m obsessed because I thought it was so amazing–we seriously took over 400 frames to make this not-even-a-minute long clip–but I watched it probably five times on the camera when we made it. I was super impressed how our transitions turned out because when actually doing them I didn’t think it would look so great.

For those of you who didn’t get it… a synopsis: our story is entitled Efforts in Futility, where our protagonist is a snowman whom is self built. After an arduous journey he reaches his unintended final destination–to obtain a canonical carrot nose from a satirical “Pole” Foods grocery–where he melts before he is complete.

Complex, right? If you check out asteelpdx‘s account on youtube, you’ll find other groups who created films for the class as well. One of my personal favourites is theadventure: in which a man on a boat is swallowed by a whale, and it shows his adventures within the cavernous interior of said whale. They’re all great though, so watch them!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “s’now.big.deal.

    • Michael- If you click on the underlined “400 frames” on the post it is linked to a website that explains the process of stop-motion animation. The course I was taking that we made these films for, was actually a course for learning different techniques to use in children’s classrooms, with a greater emphasis on K-5; so you could definitely do this with your 4th graders! Thanks for visiting. :]

Leave a Reply

