super.steaz.

Noted_Dillon_2.jpg

Love XI, Collage, 2006

When I first saw these images, I was rendered speechless.

British artist John Stezaker… what can I say… just amazing.

 

John Stezaker - Cinema 1 I   - The Approach

Cinema 1 I, Collage, 2005

Stezaker makes collages of old images–classic movie stills, vintage postcards and book illustrations–into new images.

I can’t even imagine the pain he must have felt cutting up old bromides–I was almost emotional looking at this work just thinking about destroying these images to create new ones.

 

Noted_Dillon_3.jpg

Pair IV, 2007

favourite

Noted_Dillon_5.jpg

Marriage XXXII, 2007

John Stezaker - Mask LXV  - The Approach

Mask LXV, 2007

If you’re lucky enough to be in London right now he has an exhibition at the Whitechapel Gallery that you should go to and tell me all about so I can live vicariously through you (please).

 

*note: apparently  “Steaz,” “Steaze,” or “Steazy” has a variety of meanings according to more urban sources. I simply shortened the artist’s name because I wanted to sound gangster and clever, and I am not implying any other meaning by this hyphenation other than to be witty.

__________

 

+ read: this

+ listen: These Days–Nico

+ eat: Homemade Calzones

 

 

2 thoughts on “super.steaz.

Leave a Reply

